Haglund's deformity

Maladie de Haglund

What is it?

Haglund’s deformity was described for the first time in 1928. It refers to the mechanical irritation between the posterior section of the calcaneus (heel bone) and the Achilles tendon. A bony lump, call a Haglund’s deformity, causes a conflict by entering into direct contact with the tendon. The rear pressure when putting on shoes complicates the condition and causes a mechanical irritation of the retrocalcaneal bursa (cushion between the bone and tendon). Irritation of the retroachilles bursa (located between the tendon and skin) is also observed.

Haglund - bursite achilléenne
  • Fig. 1

    Haglund’s deformity with irritation of the retrocalcaneal and retroachilles bursas

Clinical presentation

The main complaint is at the level of the posterior part of the heel. There is usually a bump at this level, accompanied by pain when putting on shoes. With chronic inflammation of the Achilles tendon, pain may also be present at rest or during sustained activity.

When should you consult a specialist?

When putting on shoes is difficult or when the pain becomes incapacitating. The development of skin lesions at the rear bump is also a sign of severity requiring a specialised consultation.

The diagnosis is made by clinical examination, but also by a radiological assessment that highlights the conflict. In some cases, an MRI may be proposed to detect chronic Achilles tendon lesions that require specific care.

Do you have any questions or would you like to see a specialist?


Click here

Prendre
rendez-vous

Maladie de Haglund

Maladie de Haglund

De quoi s’agit-il :

Décrite pour la première fois en 1928, la maladie d’Haglund se défini par une irritation mécanique entre la partie postérieure du calcanéum (os du talon) et le tendon d’Achille. Une excroissance osseuse, dite déformation d’Haglund, entraine le conflit par un contact direct avec le tendon. L’appui postérieur lors du chaussage complique la pathologie et entraîne une irritation mécanique de la bourse retro-calcanéenne (coussinet situé entre l’os et le tendon). Il apparaît aussi une irritation de la bourse retro-achilléenne (située entre le tendon et la peau).

Haglund - bursite achilléenne
  • Fig 1

    Déformation d’Haglund avec irration des bourses retro-calcanéenne et -achilléenne

Présentation clinique

La plainte principale se situe au niveau de la partie postérieure du talon. On note généralement une bosse à ce niveau, accompagnée d’une douleur liée au chaussage. En cas d’inflammation chronique du tendon d’Achille, les douleurs peuvent aussi être présentes au repos ou lors d’activités soutenues.

Quand voir un spécialiste

Lorsque le chaussage devient difficile ou que les douleurs deviennent handicapantes. Le développement de lésions cutanées au niveau de la bosse postérieure est aussi un signe de gravité qui nécessite une consultation spécialisée.

Le diagnostic est posé non seulement par l’examen clinique, mais aussi par un bilan radiologique qui permet de mettre en évidence le conflit. Dans certains cas, une IRM peut être proposée afin de détecter des lésions chroniques du tendon d’Achille qui nécessitent une prise en charge spécifique.

Vous avez des questions ou souhaitez consulter un spécialiste?

PRENEZ RENDEZ-VOUS

Cliquez ici