Prendre
rendez-vous

Hallux valgus

Hallux Valgus Genève

What is it?

Hallux valgus, more commonly known as a “bunion”, is a very common progressive deformity of the foot. It consists of the rotation of the first metatarsal around its base and of the shifting of the first toe towards the second. This results in the development of a painful bulge on the inside of the foot (= bunion). It is sometimes believed that this is a painful growth extending out of the edge of the foot. It is, in fact, a deformity between the metatarsal and phalanx that creates this lump. The lump is formed by the progressive pressure of the metatarsal head against the skin.

 

Pied normal vs Hallux Valgus
  • Fig. 1

    Normal foot. Note the relative parallelism between the five metatarsal bones and their respective toe.

  • Fig. 2

    Hallux valgus (bunion) with rotation of the first metatarsal and toe

The causes of this deformity are multifarious and not fully understood. There seems to be a family link which suggests that hallux valgus may have a genetic component. Mainly affecting women (9 women for every 1 man), it is usual to find the condition in both mothers and daughters.

In all variants of hallux valgus, the first metatarsal fails to provide the necessary support. An important part of this stability is linked to the correct alignment of tendons in the feet and the hallux valgus, as a result of this deviation, alters the balance. In normal circumstances and in a standing position, the first metatarsal supports twice the load of the others metatarsals. When instability occurs, it tends to be noticed when walking or when putting weight on the foot and, in such cases, the metatarsal in question will only receive a fraction of the body’s weight. The remainder of the weight is supported by the next metatarsals along, which are not designed for such a load. For this reason hallux valgus is often associated with pain under the forefoot, thereby revealing the chronic stress on the central metatarsals due to this compensation overload (see transfer metatarsalgia). This is even more obvious in patients presenting with significant instability of the internal column (unstable internal column, hypermobile flatfoot, etc.).

Clinical presentation

The main problem is usually at the bony projection on the inner edge of the foot (= pseudo exostoses). It causes a conflict in the shoe, especially when wearing high heels or narrow shoes.

As explained above, many hallux valgus cases involve a shifting of the load from the first metatarsal to the next ones along, causing pain under the forefoot (metatarsalgia). And this is a common complaint.

When the condition is advanced and as the deformity progresses, the big toe will come into contact with the second toe and this can also become a source of conflict.

When should you consult a specialist?

Although non-surgical treatment options exist (such as changing footwear, etc.), hallux valgus is a progressive disorder and the discomfort it causes will generally increase over time. For many years doctors believed that patients should wait until the pain became unbearable before consulting; however, this is not currently true. This approach was indeed the case when techniques were not very effective and particularly painful.
The situation has now changed and leaving a hallux valgus untreated for too long can trigger other conditions (such as arthritis, hammertoe, etc.) or involve the need for more complex corrective surgery.

We advise that a specialist should be consulted when the discomfort causes a change in the quality of life or usual activities, when putting on shoes becomes difficult or when the deformity progresses rapidly.

Do you have any questions or would you like to see a specialist?

MAKE AN APPOINTMENT

Click here

Prendre
rendez-vous

Hallux valgus

Hallux Valgus Genève

De quoi s’agit-il?

L’Hallux valgus, plus communément appelé « oignon », est une déformation progressive très fréquente du pied. Elle se définit par une rotation du premier métatarsien autour de sa base et du premier orteil vers le second. Ceci entraine le développement d’une voussure douloureuse sur la face interne du pied (=oignon). On imagine parfois qu’une excroissance osseuse pousse sur le bord du pied, mais il s’agit en fait de la déviation entre le métatarsien et la phalange qui crée cette bosse. Elle n’est alors que l’appui progressif de la tête métatarsienne contre la peau.

 

Pied normal vs Hallux Valgus
  • Fig 1

    Pied normal. Notez le parallélisme relatif entre les 5 métatarsiens et leur orteil respectif.

  • Fig 2

    Hallux valgus avec rotation du premier métatarsien et de l’orteil

Les origines de cette déformation sont diverses et certainement pas entièrement comprises. On note un prédominance familiale laissant entendre un caractère génétique à l’hallux valgus. Atteignant principalement les femmes (9 femmes pour 1 homme), il est habituel de retrouver cette pathologie de mères en filles.

On note dans toutes les variantes d’hallux valgus une incompétence du premier métatarsien à assurer son rôle de soutient. Une partie importante de sa stablité est liée au bon alignement des tendons du pieds et l’hallux valgus, de part sa déviation, modifie cet équilibre. Normalement, le premier métatarsien supporte deux fois plus de charge que les autres métatarsiens en position debout. Lorsqu’une instabilité se développe, il a tendance à se soulever lors de la marche ou en charge et ne reçoit alors qu’une petite partie du poid du corps. Le reste est pris en charge par les métatarsiens suivants qui ne sont pas conçus pour subir une telle charge. C’est pour cette raison que l’hallux valgus est souvent associé à des douleurs sous l’avant du pied, qui sont le signe d’une souffrance chronique des métatarsiens centraux dûe à une surchage de compensation ( voir métatarsalgies de transfert). Ceci est encore plus évident chez les patients souffrant d’une instabilité importante de la colonne interne constitutionnelle ( colonne interne instable, pied-plat hypermobile, etc.).

Présentation clinique

La plainte principale se situe généralement au niveau de la saillie osseuse sur le bord interne du pied (=pseudo-exostose). Elle entraîne un conflit dans la chaussure, en particuliers lors du port de talons hauts ou de chaussures étroites.

Comme expliqué précédemment, nombre d’hallux valgus entraînent un report de charges du premier métatarsien vers les suivants, et les douleurs sous l’avant-pied (métatarsalgies) sont souvent une plainte récurrente.

Lorsque la pathologie est avancée et la déformation progresse, le gros orteil rentre en contact avec le second ce qui, en soit, peut être source de conflit.

Quand voir un spécialiste

Bien qu’il existe des options de traitements non-chirurgicaux (modification du chaussage, etc.), l’hallux valgus est une atteinte progressive et la gêne qu’il entraîne ne fait généralement que s’accentuer avec le temps. On a longtemps dit qu’il fallait attendre que les douleurs soient intolérables pour consulter, ce qui est actuellement faux. En effet, ceci s’inscrivait dans une époque où les techniques n’étaient pas très efficaces et particulièrement douloureuses.
Cela a bien changé depuis et laisser un hallux valgus sans traitement trop longtemps peut entraîner le développement d’autres pathologies (arthrose, griffes d’orteils, etc.) ou rendre une chirurgie de correction plus compliquée.

Nous conseillons donc de consulter un spécialiste lorsque la gêne entraîne une modification de la qualité de vie ou des activités habituelles, lorsque le chaussage devient difficile ou lorsque l’on note une progression rapide de la déformation.

Vous avez des questions ou souhaitez consulter un spécialiste?

PRENEZ RENDEZ-VOUS

Cliquez ici